Nice cream

Hello, Summer! You finally decided to arrive in Vancouver! With the warm weather upon us I started to crave my favourite summer treat: ice cream. I mean, who hasn’t sat down with a tub of ice cream and polished it off? If you haven’t, I’m not sure where you get the self control but I applaud you. Also, we couldn’t be friends. Since I have little to no self control, I have spent some serious time perfecting nice cream.

IMG_1032

Now, before you tell me chocolate and caramel are not healthy, believe me, I know. I try my best to make these ice cream knock-offs as healthy as I can, but I still crave something indulgent. These are much healthier than my usual “loads of cookies and creme” go to. I’m not going to cut out everything sweet, let’s not get crazy!

All of my nice cream starts with the same base of 2 frozen bananas. If you don’t like the overly sweet banana taste, freeze the bananas before they become overly ripe. The riper the banana, the sweeter it becomes.

IMG_1041

These are seriously the easiest treats to make. Dump all the ingredients into the food processor and blend baby, blend! Some of the fruit is easier to blend once it’s warmed up a bit, so giving it a few minutes in the processor helps.

Tasting each batch is the most important part! Taste before you scoop it out of the food processor just in case it needs a little something extra of one of the ingredients.

These melt fairly quickly so if you’re not planning on eating right away, be sure to put them in the freezer quickly.

 

Mint chocolate chip

  • 2 frozen bananas, cut into chunks
  • 1 tsp mint extract
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/8 cup chocolate chips

 

Salted caramel

  • 2 frozen bananas, cut into chunks
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/8 caramel sauce
  • Pinch of coarse sea salt
  • Caramel sauce to drizzle

 

Peanut butter

  • 2 frozen bananas, cut into chunks
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • Chopped roasted peanuts for topping

 

Mixed Berry

  • 2 frozen bananas, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 cup mixed frozen berries of your choice (I used a dark berry blend: cherry, blackberry, pomegranate and raspberry)
  • 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt

I love knowing exactly what I’m eating and feeding my little one. Ellis may enjoy these more than I do!

 

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Nice cream

Leave a Reply

