6 Months In

Before Ellis, parents always told me how fast time goes by when you have kids.

I remember thinking of this leaving the hospital with our little baby girl and being so sure it was going to be easy and just fly by. I remember wanting to take the one week photo of her and counting down the days; they were impossibly long, exhausting and the end of week one seemed forever away. I remember feeling like people had lied to me about how fast time flies. That week was ridiculously hard.

I felt like I was completely ready to have kids. What I wanted more than anything was to be a mother and to have a big family. I had been around kids my whole life and between babysitting and teaching, I had experience with a wide range of ages. But during those first months with Ellis we quickly learned how challenging having a newborn was. I don’t know if I was just naïve about how hard it was, but I really struggled getting into the grove of motherhood. Those months tested us emotionally and physically, and I look back on these moments as a blur already.

Now were here, 6 months later, and we couldn’t be happier. All of my baby blues have disappeared and we have the most perfect little one. It’s safe to say we are completely smitten by her and can’t remember life without her now. Every day I stare at her and wonder how we are so incredibly lucky to have her in our lives. And now I finally understand how fast times fly, wishing I could press pause. Sure, some days are easier than others, and some leave me drained and frustrated, but seeing the love when Ellis looks at me is enough to know I’m doing something right.

One thought on “6 Months In

Leave a Reply

