DIY Floating Shelves

Anyone who lives in a condo knows the struggled of nonexistent storage space. I wanted to make a useable option for Ellis’ bathroom that was functional and cute, and I came across Shanty 2 Chic’s floating shelves and decided to use her plans found here: DIY Floating Shelves – I should note though, I roughly followed the plans and changed the measurements to fit my space.

That said, in the end, I absolutely love the finished product!

FullSizeRender 4

FullSizeRender 6

Finding the right sized baskets proved to be more challenging than I thought, especially when I measure everything with my hands… Needless to say, I did quite a bit of returning. I ended up finding the two wicker baskets at Micheal’s, and the large white bin from Home Sense.

FullSizeRender 7

In my Ikea containers  I have epson salts, q-tips and bubble bath. The bubble bath we love to use is the lavender bath by Honest company found here. It bubbles up well and baby girl loves the lavender smell – I know this because she tries to lick the lavender roller I use on her feet every night! I go into detail of this doTERRA roller in my previous blog postFullSizeRender 8

Since condos rarely come with linen closets, our above the fridge makeshift linen closet is overflowing and I needed somewhere new to hold Ellis’ bath towels. This bin is perfect to hold her little towels. I’ve found these Ikea towels are my favourite because they’re inexpensive and dry quickly. I bought some cheap ones from Babies R Us and they just smeared the water without absorbing it. The Ikea ones are perfect!

My favourite part about the shelves is the print created for me by Zoom Boone Creations. I knew I wanted some sort of art for her bathroom and they created this perfect “Stay wild my child” print. I printed it from Costco and put it in an inexpensive frame from Ikea and it looks so cute. Plus, they are so amazing, they are allowing me to add the digital download to this page! How amazing is that!?

FullSizeRender 5

So go ahead and download it from this link! We’d love if you took a picture of how you styled it and share it with us either in the comments below or on Instagram 🙂 Be sure to tag us SarahSimplyLoves and ZoomBooneCreations too!

Leave a Reply

