Favs and Fails- All Things Boobies

I specifically remember when breastfeeding stopped hurting – 9 weeks in. I remember this because I asked so many moms when it stopped hurting and no one was able to give me a definite answer. I wanted to be able to tell other moms my answer, but sadly 9 weeks doesn’t sound very hopeful. Breastfeeding, for me, hurt horribly. But I was fortunate to be able to do it, and stuck with it, which I’m glad I did for all the benefits it brings my little babe. Here are some of the products I have found useful and which ones were a complete bust along the way.

FAVS

APNO Nipple ointment – when I first left the hospital I was using the lanolin nipple ointment and it provided some relief from my sore, cracked nipples. It wasn’t until weeks later, when I was brought to tears nursing, that I realized I needed something more. My midwife prescribed APNO and it was heaven sent. I was starting to get thrush and this helped with that horrid sharp shooting pain deep in the tissue. It also provided a numbing aspect with the ib profin and gave me some much needed relief. This is a prescribed ointment and was the only thing that helped me through those 9 weeks.

Medela Swing Handheld pump- after leaving the hospital I rented the harmony pump and used it to provide relief from latching pain, but I found the electric pump awkward and bulky. There is nothing that makes you feel more like an udder than to plug yourself into a noisy machine that sucks your poor boobies dry. I opted for the handheld one and love it! I can pump wherever and I’m actually able to do other things at the same time. Motherhood is all about multitasking! I also like it because I control the speed and pressure.

IMG_1545

Nature’s Way: Fennugreek and Blessed thistle- there is nothing more alarming than pumping and realizing your milk supply has drastically diminished. My little one goes on hunger strikes and absolutely refuses to eat for hours on end some days, and then cluster feeds the next. This has messed up my milk production because my boobies can’t figure out what she needs. I have started pumping every 3-4 hours to make sure my supply stays intact. I started taking these pills and within days I noticed a boost. I went from pumping 1 ounce to almost 6 ounces. Baby girl (and I) are both very happy with these supplements!

IMG_1544

FAILS

Nursing pads

  • PC brand. These are just an all around fail. Each pad is wrapped individually which is not only a waste of packaging, but takes that much longer to get the pads on. They’re huge and have two stickies on them, which seems a bit excessive. When they inevitably get milk in them, they swell up like a diaper and feel wet and gross. I hated mine and still have half a box left.

IMG_1546

  • Medela nursing pads. These were the better of the two. They didn’t swell up like the PC kind and stayed relatively dry. What got me though was the fake nipple outdent on the front. But, why? Why do I need fake nipples on my nursing pads? Why would I ever want my nipples even more prominent? This led to NEVER placing them in the same spot and appearing to have even more misshaped boobies. No thanks!

75911_medela_disposable_bra_pads_60pack_1_

I stopped using nursing pads because, honestly, I can’t be bothered anymore. I opted for nursing bras with removable pads or build in padding and washing them frequently. As a mom you do an insane amount of laundry anyways, so what’s a few extra bras in a load?

Boppy 2 Sided Breastfeeding Pillow- I know a lot of women really love this product, but I was not a fan. I found it ridiculously large and bulky. Nothing says “Im stuck here for the long haul” like a massive pillow shelf that you strap around yourself. I found having pillows in many shapes and sizes helped me out the best. I was able to fold and wedge pillows to help prop up my babe and provide relief against my c-section scar.

boppy

Medela Calma bottles- they’re too complex! They’re described as “an innovative feeding solution designed for breastfed babies. Your baby needs to create a vacuum to start the milk flow, just like they do while breastfeeding. The vacuum and mouth positioning with Calma engage the same orofacial muscles as when breastfeeding”. For my babe, she hated these bottles. I don’t know if she couldn’t figure out how to get the milk out or was just to lazy to make the milk flow, but it didn’t end well. I started using the Playtex bottles with the drop in liners and they work well! I don’t love the whole drop in liner aspect, but at least she’s taking this bottle.

IMG_1548

 

Are there any products you love and think I should try out? Let me know in the comment section below 🙂

Ever upward!

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

