Favs and Fails

When I was pregnant, I did my research. I searched mommy blogs and Instagram accounts, and scoured product reviews to find the best of the best for my little babe. And now, after almost 3 months of product testing, I officially have my first list of favourites and the fails.

FAVS

doTERRA Lavender oil rollerball 

As a first time momma I am constantly asking people for advice so I can apply it where I feel it’s needed. With regard to bedtime, I consistently hear about the importance of starting and keeping bedtime routines, so I try to do the same thing with Ellis every night in hopes that she’ll soon know when it’s bedtime, and have a restful sleep. My friend gave me doTERRA oil to try, and I roll it on her feet every night as we change her into her jammies. Scent is the strongest sense tied to memory, and I fully believe she’s starting to associate this smell as a part of bedtime routine. Also, Lavender is said to promote a healthy night’s sleep, and while I don’t want to give this roller all the credit, she is seriously the best sleeper!

DSC_0290DSC_0298

H&M “new arrival” basics

In my opinion, H&M is one of the only companies I’ve come across thus far that seems to have genuinely thought about babies wearing their clothes. Their onesies are a wrap style and always reminds me of a burrito, and their pants rock built-in feet with foldable waist bands and no tight elastic band. It’s just smart design. If anyone has ever tried to put a tight-necked onesie over the head of an infant, they would get how much easier these baby burritos are, and if anyone has tried to put socks on (and keep them on) a squirmy infant, they would appreciate how helpful built in footy pants are. Ellis is long and I also find H&M to have a longer design. The wrap feature is also perfect for
strategically undressing your babe after a massive poop explosion! – Check back for my next post on my best fail moment of the month where Ellis was NOT wearing one of these tops.

DSC_0090DSC_0113

Bottoms: http://www2.hm.com/en_ca/productpage.0416175004.html#Lightpink/Spotted

Tops:  http://www2.hm.com/en_ca/productpage.0418545001.html#White

Minimocs

On mornings where we get dressed for the day (sometimes few and far between) these are my favourite shoes for Ellis. Minimocs are locally made in B.C. and the moc design is easy to slip on and stay on. When I was pregnant I went a bit crazy at the Minimoc warehouse sale in Abbotsford… 10 pairs … but I’m glad I love them so much because baby girl has them in every size!

DSC_0096Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 5.07.12 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-16 at 1.20.02 PM

https://www.minimoc.ca/

FAILS

PUJ tub

This is probably the product with the most disappointment because I was SO excited for it! It came highly recommended from friends, and we loved the idea of being able to store it flat as we live in a small condo with no extra room. I still love the idea of the PUJ, but I feel like its designed for a more traditional type of sink, whereas we have a modern rectangle condo sink. We’ve tried it several times now and it just doesn’t work, no matter how many times we configure it. The upside of the failure of the PUJ is she has started having baths with me, which is probably my favorite thing to do with her. She’s so chill the whole time and allows me to clean all of her rolls properly… and there are a lot of rolls 🙂

Baby K’tan carrier

I bought this simple baby wearer and at first it seemed perfect; it’s a 2 loop design that is as easy as putting on a shirt. I had seen friends use the long fabric ones and those seemed too complicated for me, so I opted for the idiot-proof one. The first time I put Ellis in the carrier, she loved it and fell asleep instantly. Amazing! The next couple times were okay but around the 5th use, it seemed to loosen. Since its cotton, this is inevitable, but there is no way to tighten it up. To me, this seems like a huge flaw in the design because she’s only getting heavier and it will only continue to stretch out. The last time I put her in it, she didn’t seem secure at all and I feared she would slip out. I tried a small and a medium, but it just didn’t work! I then bought the Beluga Baby wrap and I couldn’t be more pleased. There is a slight stretch to the fabric so I can bounce her around, and inevitably to sleep. The method of tying the wrap gets easier and easier and now I can do it without thinking.

 

One thought on “Favs and Fails

Leave a Reply

